California's Minimum Wage Leads the Way Towards Fair Compensation for All Workers

California establishes $15.50 as base pay to lift thousands out of poverty

Time beyond 8 hours a day or 40 a week commands 150% regular rate to prevent abuse

Working more than 12 hours in a single shift nets double pay - the nation's toughest OT law

Premium OT pay mandated for 7th workday to deter excessive schedules

Yearly raises account for cost of living so real earnings don't erode over time

Few exceptions tightly controlled to block loopholes that hurt vulnerable staff

Visionary standards prevent wage theft and spur business to hire more employees

With livable incomes, golden state families, communities and economy all prosper

Bold leadership on wages compels other states to follow California's example