Ways DUI first offense laws in Texas as of 2024

Published By: Todd Bennett


In Texas, a first-offense DUI (Driving Under the Influence) carries significant legal consequences for drivers.

As of 2024, a first-time DUI conviction can result in a license suspension of up to one year, as well as fines upto $2,000

Additionally, offenders may face up to 180 days in county jail, though judges have the discretion to sentence first-time offenders to probation in lieu of jail time.

During probation, which can last up to a year, the person must install an ignition interlock device in their automobile to prevent driving while intoxicated.

After a first-time DUI conviction, the Texas DPS charges $1,000 to $2,000 every year for three years, adding to the cost.

In addition to DUI education, offenders may have to install an ignition interlock device for up to a year after their license is reinstated.

First-time offenders can learn from their mistakes and avoid future violations with these stringent sanctions to prohibit drunk driving and encourage Texas motorists to be more responsible.

Read More: Texas driver’s license suspension and revocation laws