Texas penalties for a second DUI crime

Published By: Todd Bennett


You will face harsh punishments in Texas if you are caught driving while impaired for the second time in five years.

In 2023, the Texas Department of Transportation found that 5,382 repeat DUI offenders were involved in a car accident that hurt 1138 people.

A second DUI could result in a two-year license suspension. This is worse than a first charge.

You could also be fined up to $10,000, which is more than the $2,000 to $4,000 cap for a first offense.

Second-time DZI offenders in Texas face a month to a year in jail, unlike first-time offenders.

This is a stark contrast to the discretionary probation option available for first-time offenders.

You can take your license meeting back in about a year.

It's pretty clear that the state wants to crack down on drunk driving and make sure it doesn't get framed because it's very dangerous on the roads.